Guest Speaker Session on Entrepreneurship

On December 26, 2018, Wednesday, a session on entrepreneurship was conducted by Mr. Yasir Waheed at petroleum audio-visual conference room NED University. Mr. Yasir Waheed is currently working as the internal supply chain controller at Mondelez International. He has also been affiliated with other esteemed organizations like K- Electric as manager business finance and risk management, in Unilever Pakistan as assistant manager supply chain finance and in EY- Audit firm as senior auditor.

The speaker first described entrepreneurship in its traditional, academic and modern aspects with some mainstream and real-life examples and case studies. The speaker also discussed the effectuation theory which reflects the process and principles of entrepreneurship. Later, entrepreneurship in the aspects of Islam was also discussed.

The session also included some short documentaries related to the relevant topic. The session overall was quite informative and interactive, where the speaker kept on engaging the students by asking them questions and responding to each query.

The session was largely attended by the students of economics and management sciences, and some of the faculty member of the department like Ms. Rabia Shakir , Mr. Farhan & Mr. Shahid Iqbal,. The seminar was later joined by the Chairman of Economics and Management Sciences, Dr. Raza Ali Khan. At the end of the session, Mr. Yasir Waheed was presented with a token of appreciation by Ms. Rabia Shakir, Assistant Professor.

After the session, a short discussion and meet-up session between Chairman Economics and Management Sciences, Dr. Raza Ali Khan, Chairman Petroleum Engineering, Mr. Javed, Speaker of the session Mr. Yasir Waheed, faculty members and organizing team was held followed by Hi-Tea.

This session was organized by a group of students, under the mentorship of their class advisor Ms. Rabia Shakir, Assistant Professor. The amazing seminar was a result of hard-work of whole the team which included Neha Imam, Ahsan Abbas, Maria Khan, Duaa Ahmed, Laiba Rizwan, Mesum Rizvi, Atrooba Parekh, Moosa Taqvi and Sidra Arif.