IBA Karachi celebrated notable graduates at the Alumni Excellence Awards 2023

March 10, 2023: The Institute of Business Administration (IBA), Karachi on Friday honored thirteen members of its alumni community for their professional achievements and service to the community.

Attended by more than 350 alumni, the event acknowledged contributions of the awardees in a wide range of professional fields, including entrepreneurship, environment, governance, diversity and inclusion, arts and media, philanthropy, and sports.

The event was moderated by Ms. Malahat Awan, Director Alumni Affairs & Resource Mobilization, IBA Karachi who welcomed the guests to IBA's 1st Annual Alumni Excellence Awards.

Delivering the welcome address, Executive Director IBA, Dr. S Akbar Zaidi, lauded the growing community of IBA graduates for their efforts in shaping the society. He recognized other guests present in the room including, Dr. Ishrat Husain, Professor Emeritus and former Dean and Director IBA, Dr. Miftah Ismail, former Finance Minister, Mr. Muneer Kamal, former Chairman NBP and Pakistan Stock Exchange, and Mr. Tariq Kirmani, Chairman Oil and Gas Pakistan Ltd.

Mr. Mohammad Sohail, Alumni Representative on the BoG of IBA, also spoke at the occasion. He welcomed the support of the IBA fraternity and shared the recent initiatives taken by the IBA to engage its alumni fraternity.

Winners from diverse backgrounds were present at the ceremony. The list includes: Ms. Mahoor Shahzad for her excellence in Badminton (Graduate of 2018), Mr. Asif Peer, CEO Systems Ltd. (1999), Ms. Narmeen Khan, Managing Director (Malaysia & Singapore) Mondelez International (1997), Mr. Shakir Moin, Chief of Marketing North America Coca Cola (1993), Mr. Zafar Masud, CEO Bank of Punjab (1993), Mr. Sabir Sami, Global CEO KFC (1988), Mr. Amir Adnan, Owner Amir Adnan (1987), Mr. Ruhail Muhammad, CEO Lucky Electric Power Co. (1986), Mr. Sulaiman Shahabuddin, President The Aga Khan University (1986), Mr. Asad Umar, former Minister Finance Pakistan (1984), Mr. Shabbir Diwan, CEO Gatron Industries Ltd. (1983), Mr. Mohammad Zubair, former Governor of Sindh (1981) and Ms. Shahla Aly, Vice President, gTech Ads Product and Tools Operations at Google. Each of the recipients have excelled in their domains and have helped place IBA and Pakistan on the map through their achievements.

The event was attended by senior faculty, deans, and members of the staff.

Prominent alumni who attended the event included, Mr. Mohsin Nathani, President & CEO Habib Metropolitan Bank, Mr. Shahid Khan, Country Head UBER, Dr. Owais Shaikh, Leading IP legal expert in Pakistan, Ms. Huma Adnan, Founder FnkAsia, Dr. Shahid Zaki, Former CEO Philips and others.

The event closed with dinner and networking as old colleagues and classmates came together to celebrate this iconic moment of celebrating brilliance at IBA.